My Writing Process Blog Hop

ImagePhoto Credit: Empi Baryeh

First off, I would like to thank Hayley and Crystin for both tagging me in this wonderful writing process…thing on the same day! I’m convinced they’re after secret information I don’t know I have. Anyway, let’s go ahead and get started. I’m sleepy and it’s late. Like always.

What am I working on?

I’m currently working on the second book in my Andrew Banks series. Unfortunately I haven’t given away the title and am not going to do so now. I have it. And I’m sticking with it, but you guys just aren’t in the know as much as you think. Ha. But it’s a suspense novel that follows him as he works a case. This time it’s quite a bit more difficult because his client is a prominent activist known across the country. Again, not saying what he advocates for. Sorry guys.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

Quite simply, it doesn’t. I’m okay with that. Have you not heard that there are a set number of stories to be told? Well it’s true. How many authors out there write detective fiction? Too many to count, right? Well I’m not going to sit here and tell you that my stories are so much different from all the thousands written before it. Let’s be real. The one thing that I’ve really tried to do with my character is to make him real. You’ll read other detective stories in which the main character almost walks around with superpowers. He or she knows things no one else would or catches on to something that is irrelevant to the case and ends up solving it. I’m not complaining about that happening, but it definitely doesn’t happen in my books. Banks isn’t a superhero. He’s a detective. Hm. I guess I did have an answer.

Why do I write what I write?

Come on. This is easy. Look over at my shelf about ten feet away from me. What do you see? Detective fiction. I love the genre. Can you believe that my reading is the reason I earned my degree in criminal justice? Believe it, because it’s true.

How does my writing process work?

You’re not going to like this. I don’t really have any kind of process. I just write when I want to. If I don’t, then I don’t. Other writers place what I believe to be unnecessary burdens upon themselves by aiming for certain word counts each day or this number of chapters to be edited and all of that nonsense. I don’t. I was lucky enough to write my first book in less than three months, which is right in line with that great Stephen King quote, but I’ve been lazy with the second. No real reason, to be honest. Just have been. My only real answer to this question is that now I write my chapters in two sittings. So maybe I’ll sit down and write 1,100 words and then write the rest the next day. I’ve never once worked on multiple chapters in a single day. But I did write the last seven chapters of my first book in 11 days. It was only 21 chapters total. I guess it’s possible to light a fire under me and get me writing, but I haven’t experienced that this time around. I’m okay with that.

So now I’m supposed to tag others, right? Well call me a rebel because I’m not going to. I already wrote my Liebster Award post two weeks ago and I would likely tag those same people. Don’t want myself becoming an annoyance now.

At least you know a little about my writing process now, A little.

13 thoughts on “My Writing Process Blog Hop

  1. I like that you don’t limit yourself to writing a certain amount per day or something similar. I read a lot of people who do, which makes me feel lazy/unproductive, when really I just don’t feel creative and don’t want to write crap!

    Like

  2. Do you write outlines for you novel? Or just go straight through?

    Like

  3. You’ve just gotta do what works for you 🙂

    Like

  4. Hello. Have you written any other books?

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Harry Potter Alliance Launches Annual Accio Books Book Drive | Write me a book, John!

Leave a Reply

