Millennials Read More Than You

MrMrsSmith_TheLibrary_Thailand_01_EL_5oct12_pr_b_639x426

Photo Credit

Yep. You read that right. Pew Research Center just recently released a report that says as much. Want to know what I think about it? Here’s my entire response….HA!

If you play around on WordPress or just the internet in general you’re likely to come across dozens of articles (blog posts) that start with something like “People just aren’t reading anymore.” or “Do people even read books anymore?” or “Books are dead.” I know you know what I’m talking about. But these are all just opinions of individuals who have no idea what they’re talking about. They think that because they don’t read and probably their friends and family don’t read that that means every other person in America also doesn’t read. Like…huh?

I’ve read way too many articles about books and publishing and all that stuff to know better. But what does this mean? What does it mean that millennials are reading more than older Americans? For one, if your mom or dad reads more than you then you have a problem. Second, ALL of you people writing about how no one reads anymore and blah blah blah can shut up. That’s what. And if you’re one of those people who has been thinking that, then you should probably go find yourself a book.

Let’s all give a nice ovation to the millennials out there who made this report possible by reading their Potter collections every year. *stands and waits for others to join in*

*sits back down awkwardly*

I’d like to know what you think of this finding. What do you think of millennials reading more than older Americans?

And oh by the way, this report is strictly talking books. I know some ofย  you had it in your head that they must have counted reading on social media or some other absurdity. So again, HA!

You can read about the report here.

7 thoughts on “Millennials Read More Than You

  1. I wonder if it’s just Millenials, or if the youngest generation of any time period always reads more. Hmm. We are the “Harry Potter” generation though, so I’m sure that made a huge impact.

    Like

  2. I would have to agree, haha. My sister and I love reading, and a lot of great series have come out, many books have been raved about through cyber space, and millions have picked up books, based on the recommendations or to see what the hype was all about. While my mother loves to read, and same goes for my grandfather, they seem to enjoy relaxing in front of the tv or go out and about more than snuggling up with a good book.

    Like

  3. I love this! I’ve been telling anyone who would listen that books aren’t dead. I’ve also made a point to give my younger siblings books at every gift-giving occasion. They probably hate me, but someday they’ll look at their bookshelves and be grateful.

    At least, that’s what I tell myself.

    I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a blog award. Get the details here: http://iemergedinlondonrain.wordpress.com/2014/09/15/730/

    Like

  4. First of all I want to make sure that when you say the millenial generation, you mean kids born around the year 2000? Secondly, I find it totally believable that they read more than others. They have the time (no jobs, etc) and the motivation (e-books). Books are so much cheaper than they’ve ever been thanks to the e-publishing revolution. I buy more books than I ever have at ANY point in my life because they’re so inexpensive. You can find great books for under $2.

    What this means for me as a writer is that I should totally take the advice of my critique group and start writing for young adults!

    If I’m wrong about the age bracket of millenials, kindly disregard my comments and cut me some slack. I’m an 80’s baby.

    Like

    • My understanding is that millennials are 80s & 90s kids. Early 2000s is on the end of the generation. So yeah. Kind of goes against what you said. I really don’t know why they read more.

      Like

      • I’m a millenial and I didn’t even know it. Then I guess it just means that we’re more brilliant and smarter than any other generation. (Despite evidence to the contrary provided by your’s truly.)

        Like

  5. Pingback: Is There a Proper Look for Writers? | Write me a book, John!

Leave a Reply

