A Birthday Post (not mine)

Okay guys, y’all know every so often I’ll write about topics that have nothing to do with books or writing. I do this because I don’t know about you, but there’s more to me than talking about books. It’s quite minimal, actually. I pretty much only talk about that stuff on here. Anyway, today’s post is about someone I’ve actually already written about on here before. And it’s her birthday today. Her name is Lilly, but her 4 million YouTube subscribers know her as Superwoman. I first wrote about her in July when I just happened upon one of her videos. Suffice it to say that I haven’t missed a single video or vlog of hers since. Here’s my letter.

Dear Superwoman,

It’s your birthday and I imagine you have things to do and people to see to help celebrate this grand occasion. I’m hoping you’ll be able to take just a few minutes to read this.

I have to be honest with you, I am a very late comer to Team Super. I’ve never previously been someone who would subscribe to YouTube channels or watch too many videos. Mostly YouTube was where I’d listen to music to decide if a particular song was worth downloading. The funny part is that I discovered your channel by doing just that. It was the first week of July and a random article appeared in my Facebook News Feed talking about a YouTube comedian and rapper and this generation. I honestly had no idea what it was talking about or why I even clicked it. But I did. I read the article and thought I might as well watch the video. I watched the video and could not stop singing #Leh for a good couple of weeks. I downloaded it and watched something like 50 of your videos over the next two days. You had me hooked.

That’s my little story about how I discovered your channel. I subscribe to four channels and two of them are yours. But this post isn’t meant to tell you how hilarious I think you are or which of your videos is my favorite. I’d like to tell you why it is that I’ve come to enjoy what you do. So let me tell you.

You say shemurr. You call your fans unicorns. I could go on and on, it’s all great. Truly. And of course all of that is part of the reason why I’m so entertained by you, but there’s so much more. Ask me to describe you in one word. I’d choose genuine. And I didn’t even have to think about it. Why? Because over the course of the last few years you’ve been so very open with your viewers. Are there things that we don’t know about you, I’m sure, but there’s something to be said about someone allowing millions of people in on their life. I couldn’t do it. And I know most people couldn’t, but you have. I mean, who hasn’t seen video or pictures of some celebrity walking around with an entourage 10 or 20 deep. It’s like they operate as a wall between them and the so-called “regular” people. But not you.

You vlog everywhere and I’ve never seen you surround yourself with people or security or anything like that. I think this is part of the reason why your viewers are so enthusiastic. You’re approachable and you don’t cut them off. People ask for a hug and you give one. People ask you to sign something and you do so. People ask to take a picture and you never refuse. People cry and freak out upon meeting you because you’re a friend. Sure you’re a celebrity and it’d be impossible for you to get to know every one of your viewers, but I can sit here and honestly say there’s no doubt in my mind that we could meet and have a short conversation. That’s what makes you different from other people in the public eye.

Lilly, you may very well be the best at what you do, but you’re still a better person. So happy birthday! 26 is only a little old. 😉

Sincerely,

A unicorn by the name of John Guillen

PS: that Harry Potter cake in one of your super early videos was INCREDIBLE! Second, I think this satisfies your request from your last video to tell people about your channel.


 

Back to you WordPress reader, you can check out her channel here.

I leave you with one of my favorite videos she’s done.

Leave a Reply

