An Unexpected Change

Have you ever felt the urge to just do SOMETHING? That was me last night around two in the morning. I don’t ever go to sleep before that time, so my being awake was typical. But suddenly I needed to do something. Guess what I did? You might even be able to guess it.

I reorganized my bookshelves! Ha! It wouldn’t surprise me if I woke someone up because it turns out that moving books around can be pretty loud when there’s no other sound coming from any other part of the house. But I still kept at it. I made two changes last night. First, I moved my trade paperbacks from my paperbacks shelf to my hardcovers one. And second, I alphabetized all my books by author rather than by title. I was able to add about a shelf of books to my hardcover shelf as a result of the reorganization.

I don’t think my shelves look any better or worse after last night, just different. I realized that I now have 17 paperbacks by Robert B. Parker, the most of any author. And 16 by Michael Connelly.

Tell me you’ve experienced this need to do something like I did last night, and what did you do? Or am I just weird?

image

Here’s my visual of what I did last night. Hehe.

26 thoughts on “An Unexpected Change

  1. This pleases me. You did a good job!

    Like

  2. That’s really pretty! But sooner or later you’re gonna have to double stack and I hate doing that :/

    Like

  3. Awesome! You make me want to organize mine. πŸ™‚

    -RB

    Like

  4. I love reorganizing my bookshelf! It’s so pretty:)

    Like

    • This was actually my first time. Mine had been the same since forever. The one thing I like is that now I get to see how many books I have by an author all next to each other. I have a count on my computer, but it’s nice to see on the shelf too.

      Like

  5. Looks good and you’re not weird, I reorganize my bookshelves in the middle of the night all the time!

    Like

  6. At least you organized your books… And I don’t think you’re weird. I think I’m weird since I’m too lazy to organize my shelves! πŸ˜€ Great job b.t.w. Looks good!

    Like

  7. I already org my books by author. LOL. But yes, those middle of the night callings. Mine are usually of the clean the bathroom, kitchen, dog with a toothbrush sort of obsession.

    Like

  8. πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ it looks niiiice! lol I’ve reorganized my shelves in the middle of the night, too. I kinda organize them regularly, though, because they always get messy from me taking books out and not putting them back properly πŸ˜‚

    Like

  9. YYYEESSSS!!!!! Again, I’m swinging you into my way of thinking, and organizing by author. WOOHOO!!!!
    Part of me would like to organize my bookshelf by color, because I think it would look great. But I can’t stand the idea of books by the same author not being side by side.
    As for late night motivations…mine are either for writing or nothing at all. My motivation at night is sleep. And if I’m lucky, I will reach that goal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

