Read Across America Day

I think today is Read Across America Day, which also coincides with the 527th birthday of Dr. Seuss. Hahaha I really hope you caught my previous sentence.

Anyway, today we celebrate reading and Dr. Seuss. An author who remains immensely popular a quarter-century after his death. To my knowledge I’ve never actually read one of his books. As I write this I’m under the impression that I did read some of his work back in first grade. But I honestly have no idea how accurate my memory is. I have seen some of the adaptatations from his work. Most notably, Jim Carrey as the Grinch. And I just remember the faces of the people of Whoville.

Do you have a favorite Dr. Seuss story or memory? I don’t.

21 thoughts on “Read Across America Day

  1. You’ve never read a Dr. Seuss book? Perhaps as an adult reading it would be a different experience. While children are his biggest fans, and he wasn’t much a fan of them. He did work a certain magic in children’s literature that invoked the imagination, and got children reading more for the enjoyment of it.

    Like

  2. My personal favorite still is ‘Horton Hears a Who’.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I don’t remember reading him as a child but I certainly loved reading him to my child.

    Like

  4. With kids we have tons of his books. Maybe every single one. But as a child I don’t remember reading them.

    Like

  5. I read pretty much any Dr. Seuss book I could get my hands on when I was a kid. I like many of them, but my favorite by far is “Oh, The Places You’ll Go!” It defines me in many ways, and it’s just fun and entirely quotable. I even have a mug with that phrase/design on it. And I don’t drink coffee or tea very often.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Green Eggs and Ham! I do not like them Sam I Am, I do not like Green Eggs and Ham… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. The Cat in the Hat definitely, Cat in the Hat Comes Back and Green Eggs and Ham. Can’t forget One Fish, Two Fish and ABC. I remember reading those books over and over again. I loved those books. I wish I had kept them. I passed them on to my cousin and she destroyed them. Broke my heart. I’m planning to start a collection for my nephew.

    Like

    • Hmmm. I wish I could say I’d read any of those. 😕 Your neighborhood Half Price Books will have plenty of his books in stock! Assuming you live in one of the states with stores.

      Like

      • I think you should give them a try. Go to the bookstore and flip through a couple. I think they’re magical. Just let your imagination soar 🙂

        Thanks for the tip but I’m in Toronto. I’ll try to look for that store next time I’m in the US though. We visit families in New York and California often.

        Like

      • Hmmm. I might. But just casually. I don’t think I’d sit down and read through a few of them. Oh. Okay.

        Like

  8. I had many Dr. Seuss books as a child. They went to my cousin who was 5 years younger than I when I outgrew them. When I adopted children at age 37, I received a heavy box from Seattle. When I opened it, it was all of the Dr. Seuss books from my childhood. My cousin had crossed out my name on the inside cover and had written her own. My kids, crossed out her name and wrote theirs. My wife and I welcomed our first infant (God has a sense of humor) at age 45. She has now crossed out her siblings names and has written hers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

