Saturday Selects #25: On Travel

Saturday Selects is a series of posts I write on the first Saturday of each month (usually) about something outside the general bookish theme of the blog. Today’s topic: travel.

Some of you know my first real trip is coming up. It’s next month and I’m going to Washington DC for four days. I’ve been in Houston my whole life and I’m ready to start seeing the world. That sounds like such a cliché, but there’s so much out there I hope to see.

Well I’m still six weeks away from my trip (planned four months ago) and I find myself thinking of other places to visit in the US. Is this normal or am I suffering from an incurable ailment destined to ruin the rest of my years!? I’m even looking at dates! Uh oh.

For the record, I don’t spend money. I have a little bit saved up that’s causing all this. I can’t imagine what I’d be doing if I had a higher paying job. I’d probably lose my job after deciding to ditch work for a quick trip 1 too many times. Welp.

The two places I see myself visiting next are Austin and the Grand Canyon. Most likely in that order.

Tell me your best travel stories! And if you can remember your first trip, tell me about that too!

PS: I have a few comments to reply to. I intend to get to all of them today.

6 thoughts on “Saturday Selects #25: On Travel

  1. First trip I remember I was five and my parents took me and my best friend on a camping/road trip to Disneyland. It was awesome.
    I’m a constant traveler. And my kiddo will be the same. We’re taking a cruise with friends in May and they asked if this is my kiddo’s first time in (destination)? No. Kiddo’s first cruise? er, more like his seventh.

    Like

  2. I was too young to remember my first trip, but my family went to Florida many times to visit my great grandma. And we would usually spend a few days at a lake somewhere in the summers. Then South Carolina, Niagara Falls, New York, Paris, a bunch of places around the state, then I started traveling for my job, and most recently my trip to Ireland. Now I’m in Maine and I plan on exploring the state. You probably know all this already, but meh. I hope you have fun on your trip. I love to travel. Obviously.

    Like

  3. I was 13 when I went to Thailand. Not my first trip but by far my favorite. Have a good trip, John! (I know it’s a bit too early to say that.)

    Like

  4. I’ve been planning and researching dates and destinations for aaaaages, man…I have places all over the world I want to go to. France, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong, Israel, India…it’s baaaad. That’s why I would love to get a job that lets me travel all over, and I’m also going to look into studying abroad. See, this is literally the only reason I’d ever be jealous of the Kardashians; they have all the money I could be using to become a world traveler. -_-
    But I guess my first “big” trip was to Hawaii when I was 7 or 8. And I recently went to Mexico for the first time, which was amazing and I’m planning to go back soon. I also have friends in Pennsylvania, so I’ve gone to the East Coast quite a few times. And I’m reeeeealllly hoping my parents will take me to Canada for my senior trip. We’ve talked about it, and it seems pretty likely, so I’m super excited! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

