Saturday Selects #13: Love has no labels

Saturday Selects is a series of posts I write the first Saturday of each month about a topic that is unrelated to the general bookish theme of this blog. I missed last month’s post. Not this time.

I’ve never once tried to make this blog political. Not once. And quite frankly, today’s topic isn’t political in my eyes. It’s about what’s right and what’s wrong. But many people would have you believe otherwise.

There is nothing political about same-sex marriage. There is nothing political about judging other people for no reason at all. There is nothing political about you thinking it’s okay to tell someone who they can or cannot love. And I know what some of you are thinking. You’re thinking about what the Bible says or what your religion says about homosexuality. That’s fine. Hide behind that all you want. Don’t think for yourself. That’s fine. I very sincerely don’t care what you think about it. This post isn’t meant to change your mind. I’m telling you what I think, cause after all, I see nothing wrong or controversial about making my opinion known on my own blog.

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m all for same-sex marriage. And I have been ever since I was old enough to have my own opinion. Because think about it…how would you sound if you said that you think Whites and African-Americans shouldn’t be in relationships together? Or how would you sound if you said that Mexicans shouldn’t be allowed to marry any Americans? Better yet, how would you FEEL if other people constantly felt the need to tell you that you can’t marry someone because of who they are. NOT because they’re a bad person. NOT because they’re immature or too young or whatever the reason may be.

I don’t care what you think, but I can tell you that you only look very ignorant in the minds of millions of people all over the world. And sure you shouldn’t care what anyone thinks about you or your beliefs, but just put yourself in someone else’s shoes. Someone who is gay. And think about the struggle life can be at times. And now ask yourself why you have any opinion at all about who someone should or shouldn’t love. No one should. It’s really no one’s business outside of the relationship. Period.

This week The Ad Council released a great, great video with the message that love has no labels. Because it doesn’t. I’m happy to say that it’s gone viral. It’s only a few short minutes and I encourage you to watch all the way through. Because you’ll find that labels and love just don’t mesh.

Also, if you’ve never heard the song “Same Love” by Macklemore, you should give it a listen. The song and the message of The Ad Council’s video are an exact match for each other.

NOTE: I rarely delete comments. But today I will. If you disagree with me on this, that’s fine. Don’t comment. I don’t go on your blog and tell you how much I disagree with you, which is likely often.


On this day in 2014 I published Amazon’s List of 100 Books Everyone Should Read: 63. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Saturday Selects #13: Love has no labels

  1. I agree 🙂 What annoys me is when people say gay marriage isn’t natural. Many animals engage in homosexual acts yet only humans have marriage. Seems like if your going to be against something for being unnatural you would be better being against all marriage.

    Like

  2. Nothing much to say other than word, bro. And anyone saying “oh, I support legal rights for them, they just shouldn’t *call* it marriage. Leave marriage to the churches!” – not okay either. Semantics matter. I have no religious affiliation, but like hell am I calling my future marriage a “domestic partnership” just because it won’t involve a diety. Gay people should be able to MARRY, period.

    Like

  3. I didn’t figure out until recently how confining and damaging the opinions of others can be. I’m not sure why it’s so difficult for our society to comprehend that each soul has the right to its own truth. We feel we have to force our opinions on others and mold them into our way of thinking. It makes no sense. Celebrate freedom to experience life as many ways as you can, and the freedom to express that experience any way you choose, provided it harm none. I agree with you. Live and let live!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment