On Lilly Singh

LillySingh-c

I’ve written about Lilly several times on here. I honestly don’t even know the exact number, but I’d say it’s been at least five times. She hasn’t written a book yet. I don’t know her to be a big reader. And I’m nothing like her target audience. But man I’m proud of her.

If you don’t know, she’s one of the most popular personalities on YouTube. She has more than 7 million subscribers. Her channel has been viewed more than 1 billion times. And she went on a world tour last year. She’s doing everything.

I don’t want you to think I’ve been watching her since the beginning, I haven’t. I started in July of 2014 when she released her first single #Leh about millennials that immediately caught my attention even though I have no real interest in hip hop at the moment. Then I started watching her videos as much as I possibly could. I tried to catch up after missing her first four years on YouTube.

But I’m not writing her biography. I want to tell you all why I’m proud to be a fan of hers. She’s famous. She’s rich. She makes her living by making other people laugh. And she’s real. But I’m proud to be a fan of hers because she started making videos in 2010 because she was unhappy. She was in the midst of a low point in her life. And rather than feel sorry for herself and let life slip on by she decided to do something about it. Now five and half years later she can’t be stopped.

She’s talented. She’s hilarious. And she never takes herself too seriously. And she just made her first appearance on late night TV with. There’s nothing wrong with people who take their success for granted because we all take things for granted that we shouldn’t. But there’s never been any doubt in my mind that Lilly appreciates every time someone likes one of her tweets or comments something positive on one of her videos. Yes her hard work and determination has helped her along the way, but millions of fans have been right there with her. Even when she didn’t know it yet.

Congratulations, Lilly.

To me, no one “deserves” anything in life. People don’t deserve to be without basic essentials. No one deserves to win the lottery. Students don’t deserve any particular grade. But Lilly, you’ve earned everything you have. So be proud, be humble, and continue to change the lives of your fans. And most of all, stay super.

Is there anyone you’ve never met who you can’t help but be proud of? Author. Singer. Actor. Friend of a friend.

 

10 thoughts on “On Lilly Singh

Leave a comment