Major Writing Process Change

Divided Within (Andrew Banks #1)

I had hoped to receive my final proof today, but unfortunately it didn’t happen. So I’m convinced that I’ll have it for my viewing sometime tomorrow. Hopefully.

Andrew Banks Book Two

A million posts ago I may or may not have mentioned that I don’t believe in the so-called “edit while you go” philosophy. I don’t know if this is even a term that people use, but I’m talking about editing my writing as I write it. For example, writing an entire chapter and then immediately editing it afterward. My reasoning for being against this practice was that I thought it would force me to stay focused on only a small portion of the entire work rather than continuing to move forward. I was wrong.

When I had to go through and edit my first book I realized that rather than spending a short amount of time editing after each chapter that I had forced myself to spend hours editing the whole book. And my book is fairly short. I ended up spending a lot more time editing the final product because I failed to do any during the actual writing.

What’s my take from this? Well…this whole writing thing is not an exact science. I figured that I’d have to do a little trial and error before I really got into my own little groove. I mean, there are still many practices that I know many other authors adopt that I haven’t found the need to. Like writing every single day no matter what. I don’t believe in this because I very much disagree that bad writing is better than no writing. Bad writing is bad writing. Period. So, I wrote my entire first book without ever having the need to write every single day.

No new chapter to discuss yet, but you all will know when there is!

One thought on “Major Writing Process Change

Leave a comment