2014: My Goals

Even though we’re well into the new year now, I’ve just very recently laid out what I wish to accomplish in 2014. Of course, the list revolves around my writing. What else, right? Let’s get to it.

1. Finish the book I’m currently working on

This seems fairly obvious, I’m sure, but all of my fellow authors out there know that no book is easy to write. Not even the bad ones. This comes first on the list because the longer I take to finish the less time I have for the other items on my list. I wish I could wake up and spend 24 hours straight at my computer writing chapter after chapter and get this thing written, but I can’t. Although I want to finish in a timely manner, I won’t rush myself. I just want the story written.

2. Begin the search for an agent to represent book two

I mentioned in an earlier post that I’ve decided not to self-publish my book under any circumstances for a number of reasons. If you’re interested take a look at the original post here. Again, we all dread the search for an agent because we’re putting our hours and months and maybe even years of work out there for someone else to judge. It can be a scary feeling, but it’s one I’m ready to take on. I wouldn’t be surprised if the search for an agent ends up taking longer than the time to write the book, but again the decision has been made and I look forward to it.

3. Write book three

There’s no doubt in my mind that once I finish working on my second book that I’ll almost immediately start in on the third. The idea has been in my head as long as the idea of writing has and it’s waiting for its time to shine. I came up with the basis for the book in early 2012 and have been eager to revisit the idea ever since.

Also, note that it took me four months from the start of the first chapter to print for my first book, so the goal of two books in a single year isn’t too farfetched based on the writing I’ve already produced.

4. Writing vs. full-time employment

This is where things get a little tricky. Goals are never 100%, right? Well if I am unable to ink any kind of publishing deal by year’s end, even if I have two books finished, I’ll at least entertain the prospect of finding a real job. Right now I only work part-time on the weekends and am supposed to be spending my weekdays at my computer writing, but I don’t write as often as I should. So, 2014 is certainly what might be considered a make or break year for my writing.

But remember that I am holding onto a degree in criminal justice that I’m not putting to much use. I mean, I have a great interest in the criminal justice system, but my first choice will always be writing over everything else. And also note that if I am forced to get a real job that I’ll still be writing and fighting for that publishing deal. I’ll just have less time devoted to the cause.

Wish me luck!

One thought on “2014: My Goals

Leave a comment