What’s the Status of Your 2015 Reading Goal?

April is over. Which means that we’re through a third of 2015. And don’t say how fast it’s gone by because everyone says that about everything and it’s just annoying. Anyway, at this point you should have some idea as to whether or not you’re going to reach your reading goal. Unless you’re me, because I have no idea.

My goal for 2015 (as it is every year) is to read 50 books. Guess how many I’ve read so far? Just guess. I’ll give you a second. Got your guess? Okay. I’ve read four books. Ha! And none since January. Why? I don’t feel like reading. That’s all. But this happens every single year. I go through a period of not reading. It’s just how I am. Maybe it’s my way of taking a little break from words and words and words. I don’t know. But I have no issue with it. I’m not one of those super readers who reads 125 books a year without blinking an eye. That’s just insanity.

So my total for the first third of the year is four books, right? Now I’m going to predict how many I think I’ll read during the next four months. Hmm. Based on absolutely nothing, I’ll say by the time the end of August comes around I’ll have added 20 books to my current total. Let’s see how I do!

Two questions for this one. First, what’s the status of your 2015 reading goal? Second, how many books do you think you’ll read in the next four months? Most of y’all better be doing better than I am.


On this day in 2014 I published Quoting Your Favorite Authors via Their Books.

 

49 thoughts on “What’s the Status of Your 2015 Reading Goal?

  1. My 2015-goal was to read at least one book a month. Well, I’m now reading my second book, so I’m also running behind haha. But I always say to the people that reading is something you do for fun or to relax. Not because you have to. So you can set a goal, but when you’re not at the point where you should be standing, shouldn’t be that big of a deal. It has to be a thing you love to do, not a must-do thing. (:

    Like

  2. I was temporarily sidetracked by Supernatural but I’m back on track. I’m changing up genres a bit, which is difficult, but when I get some good light reading smut going, I’m can fly through books. So much better than TV at any time!!

    Like

  3. I’ve never kept count of how many books I read over the course of a year but over a weekend I usually read at least two, more if its a young adult series. I’m now thinking I have a serious reading problem.

    Like

  4. So far this year, I believe I read 5 books. I hope to double that in the next 4 months. It may not seem like a lot, but I’ve also been editing, writing, and now I’ll be working, so if I can read 10, even 15 books this year, that will be an accomplishment for me.

    Like

  5. I don’t set a specific goal number, but I try to get over a hundred. You know how crazy a reader I am, anyway. I’m into the 50s so far. If I keep up this pace, I’ll be at about 150-175 by the end of the year, but my pace may slow down in the summer since I’ll be traveling more and getting out to see new things. Who knows! But I’m certainly well on my way to reading over a hundred books.

    Like

Leave a comment