Barbershop Books

People generally have a regular schedule by which they get their haircut, right? I used to. For the longest time I’d get my haircut every three weeks. Then it was once a month. And now, well, I discovered the beauty of wearing a hat.

Barbershop Books is an initiative aimed at kids who aren’t exposed to books on a regular basis. It started in New York City and has since spread to other parts of the country. The barbershops have a select number of books for children to read each time they go in for a trim. Which I think is much better than the terrible magazine selection available where I go. Exposing kids to books as much as possible doesn’t seem like a bad idea to me.

Have you seen this initiative in action in your area?

2 thoughts on “Barbershop Books

Leave a comment